April Edwards [Embracing Home]
Subtle Resistance
Podcast Ep. #005 - Journaling
0:00
-10:21

Podcast Ep. #005 - Journaling

Let me introduce you to my undercover BFF and share why I take the time to journal several times a week.

I have a friend who feels like my best friend—always ready to listen, whether I’m venting frustrations, celebrating joys, or spinning out long-winded stories with endless details. She never asks me to get to the point and never judges me, even if I neglect her for weeks. This friend, always patient and accepting, reveals the truth of my feelings and experiences, offering clarity without the weight of relational baggage.

So what if I told you that you could have this same dear friend too?

That is because what I have described is my experience with my journal. My lined notebook that has become part of my morning routine, its there on my difficult days, and is filled with memories and pieces of my life.

In this episode I share what that looks like.

Practical Takeaways -

So here is what that routine looks like for me:

  • I tell other people in my house that I am busy for a bit.

  • then I slow down to spend 10 - 20 minutes sitting at the kitchen table with my journal and my favorite pen.

  • Sometimes I start with a question or a prompt

    • or I write about major events from the day before

  • I just sit and write, drink my cup of tea, let myself think and process.

  • It is a moment of reflection, staring out the kitchen window, and writing whatever comes to mind without judgement.

That's it. The routine itself is not that impressive. But showing up regularly makes a big impact.

Today’s Quote -

by Kristin Vanderlip from the article: A New Journal for A New Day

Check out her Journals at: https://kristinvanderlip.com/

Reflection Questions -

  • How can you add some journaling time to your schedule in the next few days?

  • What would that look like for you?


Show Notes:

Connect with April: https://linktr.ee/april.edwards

Free Resources:

.

Music intro/outro from Pixabay: https://pixabay.com/music/acoustic-group-acoustic-folk-acoustic-guitar-138361/

reflection music: by CalvinClavier from Pixabay: https://pixabay.com/music/modern-classical-afterglow-atmospheric-cinematic-piano-225035/

Discussion about this podcast

April Edwards [Embracing Home]
Subtle Resistance
restful productivity to live deliberately & shame-free solutions for your life