Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Productivity On The Go

Tips that help me be productive with a short piece of time and in a public space. With these ideas, I return home feeling rested (instead of frantic and scattered).

 

“Convenience culture seduces us into imagining that we might find room for everything important by eliminating only life’s tedious tasks. But it's a lie. You have to choose a few things, sacrifice everything else, and deal with the inevitable sense of loss that results.” – Oliver Burkeman

I often have chunks of time where I could get something done or enjoy reading (IF I plan ahead). This was something I faced as a college student with an overwhelming homework list and a demanding class schedule. As a busy mom, I do my best to make the most of gaps in my schedule by bringing things with me. 

Here is a common situation: I have just dropped off the kids for an activity and I have a specific amount of time (usually 30 min to an hour) before I have to pick them up. I want to be productive and enjoy my time alone.

Here is the process that I go through to decide what I will work on and bring. 

My Process:

What to do –

  • What does that day look like? What kinds of activities have I already done?

  • What do I need more of? (exercise, quiet, adult conversation, reading time)

Where to go – 

  • What is the outside weather like and what conditions do I need to consider?

  • What do I need? bathrooms, drinks, a snack, quiet?

What to take-

I prefer to bring what I need. It saves me money, time, and frustration (and I get to pick what I like).

  • My Essentials – Here are some things I bring in my to-go tote bag:

    • a special drink – tea, iced coffee, soda

    • a snack – something healthy and then something sweet (just for me)

    • my cactus pencil case – pencils, highlighters, my favorite pens, and some sticky notes

    • a clipboard – to create a flat surface anywhere (Also, who doesn’t leave the house without this essential?? Yes, I am a nerd.)

    • the notes app in my phone – Brian Dump out all my tasks and ideas

    • my book to read – Anne Bogel says this is the key to being a consistent reader

    • my journal – I try to journal every day.

    • comfy shoes – so I can walk if the weather allows it

    • sweater – in the Arizona desert most places use really cold A/C

All It Takes Is a Goal by Acuff (reading in my pj’s in the hotel room while Jim took the kids to the pool - Nov. 2023)

The goal for my time is to feel calm, collected, and more like myself. I choose to do something that I enjoy.

Once I have decided what to do and where to go, I follow a few rules:

#1 – Decide ahead of time.

Don’t overthink it. Action is more important than perfection.

#2 – Guard that time.

I remind myself “I have made a plan, stick to it.” Don’t let the non-urgent and demanding tasks of a busy life keep me from time to myself. I put my phone in “Focus Mode” and I don’t check texts or email. That little bit adds up. It will make a difference in my week. It will matter in a few months.

#3 – Plan for the majority, not the exception.

Don’t let one bad experience ruin it. Consistency is key. This can be a routine that brings me joy.


my quiet spot in the library - July 2023

Share

My chunk of time feels grounding and useful instead of scattered and wasted. I pick up the kids from the scheduled activity with a renewed calm. I can return home feeling rested instead of frantic and scattered.

Those short pieces add up. 40 minutes a week is over 2 hours in a month and 2 months = 320 minutes (over 5 hours). 

Being intentional with all of my time puts me in charge of my day, even if I am just stuck in a parking lot with a book.

Reflection Question: How do you reclaim random pieces of time?

I would love to hear your ideas!

Please share in the comments. ⬇️

📖💙- April

Check out my TikTok!

0 Comments
April Edwards [Embracing Home]
April Edwards [Embracing Home]
Authors
April Edwards